All 2009

Tuesday 10 March
The Two Elections of 2008. A discussion on the two elections which absorbed us last November and their respective ramifications for us and the world.
Professor Nigel Roberts, Political Science Department, VUW.

Friday 13 March
Dr Huhana Smith, Senior Curator Matuaranga Maori at the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, and practising artist.

Tuesday 17 March
Selling Science.
Dr Di McCarthy ONZM, CEO Royal Society of New Zealand.

Friday 20 March
Professor Tim Stern, Professor of Geophysics Victoria University of Wellington.
The Alpine Fault and Wellington.

Tuesday 24 March
Freedom of Speech.
Cate Brett, until recently editor of the Sunday Star Times, and now working for the Law Commission.

Friday 27 March
Forensic Dentistry ‘Twilight Zone’.
Judy Hinchcliffe, Forensic Pathologist.

Tuesday 31 March
Claude Monet.
Christiane Mortelier

Friday 3 April
Atoms, Dinosaurs and DNA :  the passions and obsessions of New Zealand scientists.
Rebecca Priestley

Tuesday 7 April
Kippenberger and the Gift of Leadership.
Denis McLean, a former Defence Secretary and Ambassador to the USA.

Friday 1 May
Mapping the New Zealand Ocean Floor. How and why we map it in detail.
Helen Bostock, marine geologist, NIWA

Tuesday 5 May
Ripping Yarns and Grimm Stuff.
Lynne Jackett, the National Library Children’s Collection Research Librarian.

Friday 8 May
Behind the Explosion at Karori Sanctuary.
Raewyn Empson,  Conservation Manager at Karori Sanctuary.

Tuesday 12 May
A Balancing Act.
Annie Ruth, Director of Toi Whakaari New Zealand Drama School.

Friday 15 May
The Objectives and Functions of the New Zealand Transport Agency.
Mark Owen, Operations Manager Central, New Zealand Transport Agency.

Tuesday 19 May
Ballets Russes.
Jonathan Mane-Wheoki, Director of Art and Collection Services at Te Papa National Museum of New Zealand.

Friday 22 May
The Role of the Broadcasting Standards Authority.
Dominic Sheehan, CEO of the Broadcasting Standards Authority

Tuesday 26 May
Antarctica and Poetry.
Bill Manhire, Director of the International Institute of Modern Letters at Victoria University of Wellington.

Friday  5 June
God, Gaia and Us
Lloyd Geering,  Emeritus Professor of Religious Studies, VUW.

Tuesday 9 June
Shakespeare’s ‘The Rape of Lucrece’.
Dr Geoffrey Miles, Senior Lecturer in English at the School of English, Film and Theatre, Victoria University of Wellington.

Tuesday 16 June
Ray Henwood

Friday 19 June
Through the Eyes of a Miner; The Photography of Josef Divis.
Dr Simon Nathan, a geologist and writer.

Tuesday 23 June
Keeping up with the News and the News we Forget.
Peter Kitchin, journalist.

Friday 26 June
The Worry Cure.
Fiona Mathieson, a clinical psychologist and lecturer in psychology at Otago University in Wellington.

Tuesday July 21
The Role of the Clerk of the House
David McGee CNZM, QC

Friday July 24
Claude Monet
Christiane Mortelier

Tuesday July 28
New Zealand’s Engineering Heritage
Dr Rob Aspden

Friday July 31
The Role of the Charities Commission
Trevor Garret

Tuesday August 4
Walking with Ghosts: Creating a Jewish Museum in the Old Nazi Capital
Ken Gorby

Friday August 7
A Perspective on the Treaty of Waitangi and the Crown
Dr Matthew Palmer

Tuesday August 11
The Developing Profession of Music Therapy in New Zealand
Daphne Rickson

Friday August 14
Our Galaxy? Whose Universe?
Denis Sullivan

Tuesday August 18
Corruption
Jeremy Pope

Friday August 21
Wellington Sculpture Trust
Neil Plimmer

Tuesday, August 25
Fashion
Angela Lassig, Senior Curator in History at Te Papa

Friday August 28
Today’s World
Terence O’Brien, former NZ diplomat

Tuesday September 1
Living the Dream
Rosanne Livingstone, former textiles collection manager, Te Papa

Friday September 4
The Work of the Ambulance Service
Alan O’Beirne, CEO of the Wellington Free Ambulance Service

Tuesday September 8
Roman Wall Painting
Dr Judy Deuling, lecturer in ancient arts and archaeology at VUW

Tuesday September 15
Latin American Cities: Similarities and Uniqueness
Daniele Abreu e Lima, lecturer at the School of Architecture, VUW

Friday September 18 AGM
The Outward Bound School
Trevor Taylor, CEO of the Outward Bound School

Tuesday September 22
Prostitution in Paris
Rodger Ridley-Smith, retired GP

Tuesday October 13
WW1 Poets
Harry Ricketts, Associate Professor of English at VUW

Friday October 16
Arthritis
Dr Jacquie Harper

Tuesday October 20
Aeschylus, Sophocles and Euripides.
Professor John Davidson, Head of School, Classics Department, VUW.

Tuesday October 27
Rediscovery of the past: the re-appreciation of the pre-Revolutionary French art in the 19 century.
David Maskill, Programme Director and a senior lecturer in art history at VUW

Friday October 30
The Global Financial Crisis
Brian Easton

Tuesday November 3
The Large Hadron Collider
Dr Rodger Sparks

Friday November 6
The International Festival of the Arts, 2010
Sue Patterson, Executive Director of the International Arts Festival